top of page

New jobs:

It's been a while since I wrote on here, so I thought now would be a good time to catch everyone up. Last I wrote on here, I was working on independent projects and just starting a project with Upload VR.

Upload VR was a really fun experience. I worked remotely, for about 2 months on one project. The project was to prepare lessons for a night course they were developing. The course focused on getting students introduced and comfortable with Unity, and showing them some basics of getting familiar with VR and Oculus. We made lessons about ways one could design motion in VR, how to avoid motion sickness, lighting and rendering techniques in Unity, C# scripting, GDD creation, and a ton more. After that project I signed up for another project that was bound to start mid May but things fell through.

Around mid March I applied for a position I found online, where a game studio needed some help finishing their game. The contract seemed to be for about a week or two, and I was contacted very shortly after applying. I started that contract about a day later, and quickly became a part of the programming team. When I first started my job was basically to implement art. There were a ton of art assets that needed to get into the game, and I was responsible for grabbing those art assets, putting them into Unity, and of course making sure they looked right. I would also create animation clips and controllers, and place those in game. There was a ton I learned on that project, whether it be how to use GIT, or the importance of communication especially when working with a remote team, there was a lot of good information gathered from that role. Well, a week of working there turned into two, and then months rolled by. I really became enthralled with the team, the environment and the game. After learning more and more about the organization of the game, I began to be able to take on more complex tasks like, editing conditions for when certain things are called, or when animations play. I ended up doing a few script edits here and there. I also was allowed to take on most of the UI implementation in game. Later I was able to start working with the artists directly to identify where their pipeline needed improvement. I worked to make a few tools for them so they could implement art assets themselves, then hand off to the programmers. I also made some automation and adjustment tools for within the editor. That position is coming to an end now, although it's bittersweet, I have accepted a new role, one I am very excited about. I can't wait to show you about this game I've put so many long days into, and to tell you about what is to come for me.

Keep an eye out for my next post which is probably detail my new position, or my work with this game company.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.

CONTACT ME BY EMAIL:

a-kinzel@hotmail.com

bottom of page